Home > poetry > Sliding.

Sliding.

I remember this time last year,

Each day was grey and quiet.

I couldn’t get home fast enough.

I couldn’t be alone enough.

I was a part of nothing

and I let no one be a part of me.

It was fascinating to see

just how far I could go.

Unstructured,

undisciplined,

unengaged,

unaccountable.

I let my hair grown long and my breath grew short.

I’m not that girl though.

I don’t let myself hide for long.

Tonight, I walked through the grey and the quiet

beneath the screen of artificial orange street lights,

and I let the hail hit my face,

unblinking,

smiling,

sliding,

skipping.

It was fascinating to see

just how far I could go.

Categories: poetry Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

