Home > poetry > Good woman gone.

Good woman gone.

On the same day that I was celebrating me

and my world,

you were leaving yours.

And we say we shouldn’t be sad,

since it’s likely things are easier for you now.

But I liked having you around.

And maybe I thought with some work and some time,

things could be better for you.

I’ll let go of those selfish thoughts, though, since that seems fair to you.

But I’m keeping your laugh, your humility, your vulnerability.

I’m keeping your honesty, your fierceness, your creativity.

I’m keeping that moment when you told me that what we do means something.

I’m keeping you.

Categories: poetry Tags: , , , ,
  1. Naomi Segal
    November 18, 2013 at 15:23

    Lori hi. Stumbled upon an old e-mail, and then your wonderful blog. Who is this moving poem about?

    • November 19, 2013 at 21:31

      Hi, Naomi! It’s actually about a client of mine who recently died. She was a great lady and I’ll miss her.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

