Home > poetry > Exist without expectations.

Exist without expectations.

The sun was perfect

and everything looked right–

an unimaginably blue sky layered atop bright green richness

in which colored flowers peppered the density.

But it wasn’t right and it wasn’t perfect.

We’re missing someone again,

and the whole time I tried to imagine what it would feel like if your hand was on my shoulder.

I think I felt it.

I did my best to feel the weight of your calloused hand

and the canopy of your crooked smile.

I know I put too much on you,

thinking you can protect the handful of us who miss you most from ever having to do that again.

But I don’t know where you are and I don’t know what you’re allowed to do.

Maybe you know what’s best.

Maybe the next time the sun is perfect and everything looks right,

we’ll just exist without the expectations.

Categories: poetry Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

