Home > poetry > I knew I shouldn’t.

I knew I shouldn’t.

I knew I shouldn’t react in the moment–

the message was for me, but it wasn’t about me.

You explained to me so calmly,

with those eyes

those eyes that reflect the sun,

like the cold water in a creek skimming over rocks and moss,

this was serious now.

You kept that easy smile on your face,

but my stomach writhed and clenched

while my throat opened and closed.

I always think when we talk

how like a child you are–so curious and willing to meet your fear,

which makes you such a good man.

You were being brave for me

and I wanted to be brave for you,

but my stomach writhed and clenched

while my throat opened and closed

as I tried not to react in the moment.

Categories: poetry Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

