Home > poetry > “I should write this down.”

“I should write this down.”

After I wake up,

it takes a minute, but my heart slows, my breathing steadies.

I stop and reorient myself to my room.

I think, “I should write this down.”

But why should I record each time

my unconscious wants me to remember the panic,

the fear,

the sharp shift in waking reality

which signifies what I had and what I  lost over night?

What is the point of such documentation?

I thought nightmares were for children, but apparently they’re not.

Or maybe it’s the simple case that my dreams would like me to know

that I’m not as far along as I thought.

 

Categories: poetry Tags: , ,
  1. February 21, 2013 at 10:50

    Love this poem, Lori. I have had this experience quite regularly throughout my life, and on most occurrences I have written them down. In the moment, I sometimes see it as nothing more than an interesting, unique, or scary dream. I have said goodbye to loved ones that have passed, seen the true nature of people in my life, and had encounters that have inspired years of research and education. Over time as I review my journal and relfect, I have found great insight and wisdom with lessons that have been learned through my dreams. They have shown me new possibilities, strengthened my intuition, and taught me that there is more to life that the normal perceived reality of the five senses. So in some instances it does remind me that I am not as far along as I thought, but in others I am shown that I am much farther than I realized.

    Thanks for the inspiring and insightful poem. I enjoyed the reflection it generated within me.

    • February 23, 2013 at 12:18

      Dennis, I still want to sit down and talk with you about the dream I had about you and your family. I’m still trying to sort that one out. I know for me, I have a hard time writing those dreams down because because avoidance is my go-to when it comes to those really intense emotions. I know they’re there, but I don’t know when I’ll be able to face them head-on.

      I always like hearing your thoughts because whether or not you intend to, you push me a little bit. In the good though.

  2. February 26, 2013 at 08:36

    Lori, whenever you are ready to sit down, I will be happy to do so. I have a feeling that conversation will be important. I know it is sometimes difficult to face those intense emotions, and it is safer to avoid them at times. I am sure that as time passes, you will find a way to face those feelings. I’m always around to listen, and I appreciate the fact that you value what I have to say. Love you tons.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

