Home > poetry > If I could start the laundry.

If I could start the laundry.

It was so silly of me to think

that today of all days,

I would start the laundry when I got home,

that I would fold sheets

and tie socks in knots.

Isn’t there comfort in routine?

At the end of this day,

I’m sitting on the couch with my feet tucked beneath me,

since it’s cold, but I can’t bring myself to turn on the heat.

And I’m hungry, but I can’t bring myself to open the¬†refrigerator.

I’m just sitting here,

waiting to see if I really believe all the things I told myself earlier.

I told myself things that would be comforting,

so today would feel routine,

and then I could start the laundry when I got home.

Categories: poetry Tags: , ,
  1. December 19, 2012 at 20:29

    the hardest thing is to allow a moment: of feeling. or the dark of no feeling…to let it be, sit. Flow through you and out of you. trust me. I know. a moment is only a moment but it sure does a great impersonation of forever. a moment can be the worst. just on and on. moments. yuk.

    the second hardest thing is to be with the fact that people care about you and there is nothing you need to DO for them. you can’t stop them. nor is there anything you can do about it. they just do because THEY want to. It is a gift to (to us) to accept that we just care. So give that to us and let us have it and be with that.

    Some day you will use this. For now, you will win by surviving it. You are a gift to us and you are far from alone. If you don’t wanna do your laundry, I support that. sometimes routine is overrated. But turn on the fucking heat.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

