Home > Life > Thirtyone Thanksgivings.

Thirtyone Thanksgivings.

Last year, I wanted to write a post around the time of my birthday, which happens in the beginning of November. I wanted it to be all reflective and stuff about where I was in the life, the people who are important to me, and where I hoped to go. I didn’t do that. Instead, I wrote a post on Thanksgiving about all the things I was grateful for. It was a pretty good list.

This year, my blog post history repeats itself. I had an incredible 31st birthday. I was floored by how much love I felt from my friends and family. I really wanted to write a post about my life at 31, but I didn’t. So here I am again, feeling giddy and hyper about the goods things floating around my life. I have just enough focus to channel all that into a list of 31 things for which I’m thankful.

I am thankful for:

1. Sunday judo

2. Mr. Latimer

3. The Carpenters, including Diana

4. That my cousin, his wife, and little boy moved back up to Philly

4a. That my cousin and his family nowlive in my childhood home

5.  That my auntie, Claire, could come up and visit this Thanksgiving

6. That I’m done with grad school

7. That I am now a licensed social worker in the state of Pennsylvania

8. That I found a job that challenges me.

9.  That I’m not as afraid to try as I used to be

10. Natural light

11. My dad’s hand-me-down coffee maker

12. That my best friend and I are growing closer, not farther apart, with time

13. That when a job application asked me how many people I could call in an emergency, I could count well over ten friends and family member.

14. That some of my friends feel like sisters

15. That some of my friends feel like brothers

16. Early morning runs

17. West Philly

18. That I tried baking, and it’s not as hard as I thought

19. That I have time to cook again

20. That I moved into an apartment big enough to actually have people over

21. Sleep-overs

22. Spare keys

23. Good co-workers

24. Amazing supervisors

25. Under Armour

26. That I don’t have to take the Broad Street Line anymore

27. Income-based student loan repayment plans

28. That I have an income at all

29. That my close buddies from my MSW program finally all are working

30.  Monthly Cousin Conventions.

31. That as my family grows, my whole world grows a little.

  1. jcarpenter001
    November 25, 2012 at 20:00

    # 2 ?!

  2. jcarpenter001
    November 25, 2012 at 20:02

    Note- the #2 comment was written by #2!

    • November 25, 2012 at 20:05

      Yeah, I figured that was him.You can let him know not to be such cry baby. I didn’t list in order of importance; it was totally stream of consciousness.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

