Home > Life > Ten hours.

Ten hours.

When I woke up this morning, I was feeling uncharacteristically relaxed. I had an amazing weekend with friends, Italian food, sushi, and birthdays. I got certified to teach women’s self-defense. I felt like my life was exactly where it should be and I was rocket-launching into the kind of future I’ve always wanted for myself. I felt calm and in control. And then I arrived at work.

I think for a lot of social workers, most days posses a certain degree of intensity and urgency. For me, my day was such that the level of intensity and urgency required me to stay at work for ten hours instead of my typical eight. It was the kind of day where I let myself cry briefly in my office and then completely fell apart once I got home. I did not feel calm. I did not feel in control. I did not feel like I was rocket-launching anywhere, except maybe into a nebula of incompetence.

However, on my bus ride home and then while I lost it when I got back to my apartment, I tried to understand when I saw today. I think what I witnessed today was the process that some people go through when they redefine what strength can mean.

Strength is not silence; in fact, strength is revealing the parts of yourself of which you are most ashamed

Strength feels like weakness.

Strength is extending your trust to someone, even if you are afraid they may hurt you.

Strength is accepting who we are even if it feels like no one else does.

 

 

 

 

Categories: Life Tags: , ,
  1. jcarpenter001
    October 22, 2012 at 22:10

    Hug. Sending you love and understanding. I cry too sometimes…

  2. October 23, 2012 at 15:31

    Yes. True strength REQUIRES acceptance of self, as is, at any moment.

    NO PERFECTION ALLOWED.

    True strength does NOT require understanding from others. And on a related note, being a truly GREAT team player incorporating the first two and having – as counter-intuitive as it may sound – a stand alone spirit.

    • October 24, 2012 at 20:07

      I always appreciate your thoughts, Aunite Claire. Maybe you can do a guest post for me sometime.

  1. October 27, 2012 at 21:54

Leave a Reply

