Home > Friends > Coffee and best friends.

Coffee and best friends.

Before my best friend, Stephanie, and I left for college, she gave me a present. It was a heavy ceramic mug, painted chocolate brown, deep red, and cream. It came with a lid, which I’d never seen before with a regular mug. Stephanie said she got me it so I could have tea in my dorm room. It was a simple, practical gift, and I loved it so much. When Stephanie and I were leaving for college, I was a mess. My brother died less than a year before, and since I was only 17, everything felt weird and out of control. Stephanie had been my quiet, unwavering foundation of support during that time. I knew that now things would start to change as we both went to separate schools to go on our separate adventures. At the time, I thought of Stephanie’s present as a good-bye gift.

That mug has traveled with me from Pennsylvania to Massachusetts, from Massachusetts to Louisiana, back to Massachusetts, down to Georgia, and then back to Pennsylvania. Through all its traveling, I still can’t believe it didn’t break. It has held a cup of tea for me from now and then, but mostly the mug has served as host for my weekend coffee drinking.  After sitting in my shelves for 13 years, I still think of Stephanie each time I pour my coffee into that mug, and how young we were when we became friends, and how much I admired and valued her shy, subtle strength.

Last year for my birthday, I received a package in the mail from Stephanie. It was a travel mug, which she said in her card was for my essential coffee drinking during my last year of grad school. Unlike my dark, earthy ceramic mug, this travel mug is poppin’. There seems to be a fairy princess woodsy picnic going on, complete with bunnies, baby deer, and birdies. Its colors are bright green, yellow, and pink. I’m under the impression that Stephanie’s four year-old daughter picked it out.

I love taking that mug to work in the morning. The ridiculousness of the fairy princess scene itself is enough to make me laugh, but more than that, it makes me think of Stephanie and her new family, and how I love being apart of their lives. I don’t have my own little family yet, but over the last few years the times I’ve felt most content are when I’m visiting Stephanie and her boyfriend along with their two little girls. There was a time when Stephanie and I are were in our early twenties and while I wanted to think we would remain close, I wasn’t quite sure if we could pull it off. But here we are, still in each other’s lives. Even though we still live in different states, I think we’re closer now than we’ve ever been.

Today, I have off from work. I’m sitting at my kitchen table, looking out my window to the grey Philadelphia that I love so much, and drinking coffee from my ceramic mug. It’s 100% sentimental, but although I’ve never drank out of this mug with Stephanie, I feel like I get to sit down with my best friend today.

Categories: Friends Tags: , , , ,
  1. Anna
    October 8, 2012 at 12:16

    aw, what a lovely anecdote. I love this, and I love imagining you sitting there drinking your coffee today. 🙂 Thanks for sharing! (I hope she gets to see this!)

    • Lori Latimer
      October 9, 2012 at 09:36

      Thanks, Anna! And I look forward to my next cup of coffee with YOU!

  2. Stephie
    October 9, 2012 at 16:27

    Lori, you are much too kind! I had honestly forgotten about the mug, but as soon as I read your description, it all came back to me. And then you made the connection with the travel mug…I love it! I hope that we can drink coffee together very soon and marvel at how long our friendship has lasted!!!!! I am constantly amazed at how smart, strong, caring, insightful and fun you are! I love you!!!

    • Lori Latimer
      October 9, 2012 at 23:27

      I love you THIS MUCH ((( )))

      That was me spreading my arms wide. I know we’ll see each other soooooooon! x0x0!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

