Home > Life > Two small moments.

Two small moments.

For the last hour, I’ve been thinking about two moments. They are from the beginning and the end of my trip to Cuba. To get to Havana, I flew on a charter flight from Miami. I was in a row of three seats. I sat near the window and two older gentlemen,  with big white beards and pony tails to match, dressed in t-shirts, shorts, and sandals, sat beside me. They intermittently spoke to each other in Spanish, but kept silent for the most part. Their energy felt so different than mine. I was exhausted, as I woke up at 3:30 AM to start my journey, and irritated because it seemed like my trip was going to be nothing like I wanted. These two men, however, seemed peaceful yet expectant. As our plane began to touch down, the gentleman directly next to me put his hand over his heart and sighed, “Ah, mi Habana.” In that moment, I realized I had no idea what to expect, and that I was about to experience something uniquely human and possibly beautiful.

On my return flight back to Miami, I was exhausted and irritated. Again. I hardly slept for two weeks. I kept catching two men on the plane staring at me, glancing knowingly towards each other. I was annoyed, and lack of sleep made me feel confrontational. After the plane landed, everyone started jamming into each other in the race to baggage claim. I heard the men saying to each other, “Si, la rubia,” and I could feel them pointing and staring. My jaw was clenched. As I entered the gate, one of the men said to me, “Do you remember? We sat next each other on the way to Havana.” They smiled, calm and expectant. Of course I remembered. My anger was embarrassing, but I felt at ease.

When those two moments connect, I think about how my own short-sighted tunnel vision is the only thing that could make miss something so small and so humbling.  I can’t help but think how each time we embark on something new, our ending and beginning often seem so cyclical.

Categories: Life Tags: , ,
  1. September 28, 2012 at 13:01

    This was a fabulous post.

  2. September 29, 2012 at 10:15

    Catching up with you a little, Lori. That was a great story.

  3. October 1, 2012 at 22:42

    Dear Lori,….. I just nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award. If you choose to accept though, here is the link for the rules:

    http://kwentongnanay.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/interesting-blogs/

    • October 1, 2012 at 23:35

      Aw, thanks, Diana! It seems easy enough to do…I’ll give it a whirl. x0x0!

  1. October 1, 2012 at 22:44

Leave a Reply

