Home > Life > It takes a village to get me a job.

It takes a village to get me a job.

Things are weird for me right now. I officially finished my MSW program a few weeks ago and I find myself tangled in the soul-bashing process of job hunting. Now, I’ve been here before. This is my second degree, and my third time since I finished undergrad that I find myself unemployed. While I clearly found work after some time during those periods of unemployment, I struggle to find comfort in that. Lately, I find myself feeling panicked and dejected. It reminds me of what it was like when I was barely 22, and spent four years of my life building my education to increase my marketability, only to realize that most potential employers didn’t care about my GPA or my extra-curricular activities.  I was frustrated that they couldn’t just feel the electric power of my potential as soon as they touched the unopened envelope that contained my resume.  What was stopping them from knowing my greatness?

Of course, now I don’t feel quite as lost as I did when I was 22. My job search is actually focused since I spent the last two years training for a specific job. I’ve spent time thinking about what kind of work I want to do and where I would like my career to go. It remains discouraging, however, that once again, potential employers are not leaping on their desk with elation once they read my cover letter and resume, so relieved to have found such an amazing candidate. I feel like I’m getting pushed backwards while trying to move forwards, leaving me stuck. I prefer momentum to stagnancy any day.

This time around, I realize that no matter how many applications I send out and as much work as I put into my education, skill-building, perfecting my cover letters, etc., I can’t  go through this process alone. I will need help. So I’ve been reaching out to people like whoa. And it’s been incredible to see how responsive people are. I wasn’t prepared to receive such support. Some of it is even unsolicited. I think about three times a week, I’m floored by the giving nature of the people in my life. Such support keeps me from lying face down on my couch, trying to will HR directors to call and email me, only to find myself stress-eating bowls of cereal at three in the morning. All the helpful gestures and kind words from my buddies, family, former colleagues, and past instructors and supervisors ensures that I keep my act together. I would hate to betray such generosity.

I can’t promise, though, that once I get a job, I will  to stop stress-eating cereal at three in the morning.

 

 

 

  1. August 20, 2012 at 22:00

    holla fo a dolla!

  1. September 17, 2012 at 22:18

Leave a Reply

