Home > poetry > A poem with a special guest star

A poem with a special guest star

Right now, I am sitting in a coffee shop with my friend, Silvi. She, like I, graduated from our MSW program on Monday. I have plans to go to Cuba for the month of June through a school program and Silvi has turned in countless resumes for social work positions. As we both engage in the waiting game in anticipation of our next steps, we find ourselves a little antsy. So that’s how we end up late Thursday afternoon writing a little poem together.

Qualitative vs. Quantitative                                                                                                                   by Silvi and Lori

I’ve been daydreaming while walking

wandering down sidewalks, counting the number of cracks

between each block of cement.

And now that I’ve gathered the data,

I’m uncertain how to qualify what I’ve quantified,

because although cracks vary in size and frequency

and the differing shades of green on tree branches are ultimately

all green, there is nothing concrete about gaping holes in the sidewalk

I so elegantly step over.

Now I find myself wondering if, perhaps, I might walk with my head up,

eyes forward,

and document each cement-induced stumble,

rather than archiving each avoided misstep.

  1. Jeannie
    May 21, 2012 at 17:55

    awesome…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

