Home > Life > In like a lion, out like a lion.

In like a lion, out like a lion.

As most of us may have experienced, life is full of, uh, ups and downs. Sometimes, we feel completely on top of our game and that nothing can touch us. Then, suddenly it seems like life sucker-punches us in the face and takes our lunch money. Over and over again. These times suck. For me, February was pretty sucky. It turns out that March sucks, too. Fine. I’ve been through periods like this and have come out alright. I’m sure with some time, I’ll feel like a champ all over again. Whenever I have these stretches of suckiness, I try as much as I can to see what I need to learn so that the next time life tries to beat me up, I’m a little better prepared. During this specific period of suckiness, it’s really hit home that I do need support. I can’t get through everything alone. Also in this particular time, I’ve been humbled and touched by how many solid gold people have emerged to be there for me.

So, yeah. I have some pretty shiny friends. Right now, I grateful for old friends, like my BFF, Stephanie, and our friend, Nicole. This past weekend, I had a friend from UMass come to visit and I couldn’t believe how at ease I felt having her around. She was like the human equivalent to a cup of hot cocoa. Also, the new friends I’ve made during grad school continue to outdo themselves in their genuineness and unwavering support. Some of these girls and I only recently became friends, but my spontaneous bouts of tears don’t scare them at all. Not even a little.

Another thing I’ve been learning is that I can’t make it without my family. Right there is pot of gold, too. It’s a huge comfort to me knowing that my Auntie Claire and her son, Noah, and his family are in this world. And while they probably don’t realize it, but as my dad’s girlfriend and her family become closer with our family, I feel like my little world is getting bigger and better. This leads me to my double cheeseball reflection of the day:

Today is my dad’s birthday. I met up with him, his girlfriend, and her two sons and their special ladies at his girlfriend’s house for cake and ice cream. Seven humans, two dogs, and a cat might make for a small birthday party, but my dad seemed happy. And I was so glad to see him that way. Of course, since I’m more a girl than I’d like to admit, I started to tear up as I thought about how much my dad means to me. I’ve mentioned before that I’ve lost both my mom and my brother. The thought of losing my dad, too, is something I can’t bear, but it’s a thought that crossed my mind as I looked at him joking around and laughing with everyone in the living room. As I let I let that thought go, I reminded myself that it’s these little moments, when I’m with these solid gold people all together in one room, are exactly what I need to patch me up and send me back into the ring.

Categories: Life Tags: , , , ,
  1. Jeannie
    March 26, 2012 at 10:41

    Oh Lori. You touch my heart once again. I have love and hugs for you any time you want or need.

  2. Jeannie
    March 26, 2012 at 10:49

    I’m pretty sure it’s safe to say that everyone else feels similarly. We ARE Fam-i-ly now.
    Gains, not losses. Love you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

