Home > Challenges, Life, passion > If nothing else.

If nothing else.

This morning, I went out for my morning run like I do five days out the week. I don’t go very far, only for 2.5 miles. When I get back home I do my little strengthening exercises and go on with my day. I partly do this for my conditioning for judo, but I also do it because I like to have that time to myself before my day really starts. Even though my heart rate goes up, it’s actually quite calming.

When I finished my run this morning, I was shocked. I looked at my stop watch and I realized that I was running  an 08:07 mile. For some of you, that might sound slow and unimpressive. For me though, it was sort of incredible. The first time I ever ran a mile when I was 16 years old, it took me more than 12 minutes. I know for years, I ran about a 10 minute mile. Over this past summer, I got a little faster and starting running on average a 09:30 mile. During the last few weeks, I’ve been going on morning runs with a school buddy and since we’re both slightly competitive, maybe unconsciously we’ve been trying to improve our mile time each week. I went out alone today. And like a lot of mornings after I’ve stayed up too late drinking coffee and trying to get work done, I had that split second when I woke up where I thought I was going to skip the run. I don’t know what makes me get up, but I do.

Today, when I looked at my stop watch and calculated that I was running an 08:07 minute, I was so glad I went out. That’s the fastest I’ve ever run. I remember struggling to get through those 10 minute miles for years. I never, ever thought that I could run an 8:07 mile. There on my stop watch was proof that I could.

And this is why I love my morning runs. A sports doctor told me when I was 19 years-old that I had too many structural flaws for running. In a lot of ways, I hate running. It’s not my favorite form of exercise. But I like the time I have to be outside with nothing but my breathing. I like the way I feel after I charge up a hill when it’s cold and dark out and my muscles are screaming at me. And I like the way I felt today when I looked at my stop watch. Maybe nothing else goes right for me today. Maybe I don’t get done half the things done that I wanted to do. But if nothing else, I know that today I ran faster than I ever have before.

Categories: Challenges, Life, passion Tags: ,
  1. CJ
    February 9, 2012 at 19:16

    Congrats to you!! That is awesome. To me that is fast!! After an extended break from running I’m slowly getting back into it. And like you, I don’t like running, but I LOVE the way I feel when I’m done. Good luck to you!

    • February 12, 2012 at 22:40

      Thanks for reading! I’m glad you’re able to get back out there. Enjoy it!

  2. February 10, 2012 at 10:49

    #1 Reason why Lori is perfect for Judo – “I like the way I feel after I charge up a hill when it’s cold and dark out and my muscles are screaming at me”

    #2 Reason why Lori is perfect for Judo – like a lot of mornings after I’ve stayed up too late drinking coffee and trying to get work done, I had that split second when I woke up where I thought I was going to skip the run. I don’t know what makes me get up, but I do

    #3 BIGGEST reason why Lori is perfect for Judo –

    Doc – “You have too many structural flaws for running”
    Lori – “Shove it up your !@#$% Doc”

    • February 12, 2012 at 22:43

      Hahaha, Eric! Thanks, buddy.

      Yeah, judokas walk that fine line of self-determination and pure stubbornness. Silly, silly judo.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

