Home > conversations, Family, Life > Family tree.

Family tree.

So today was my cousin, Noah’s, wedding. It was probably the best Jamaican-American-Jewish wedding I’ve ever gone to. While last night I was glad to know that Noah’s wife and her family were now officially a part of my world, tonight I realized that there’s family I never met right in my hometown. See, Noah’s parents got divorced when he was pretty young. I’m related to him on his mom’s side and although Noah’s dad remains a part of our lives, I never met anyone from that side of Noah’s family. We all live in Philadelphia. I learned tonight that a lot of them are in like-minded professions, like nursing and psychology. There are even a few social workers. Like Noah, they are smart, welcoming, easy to talk to, and a little goofy. I’m hopeful that our paths will cross when we get back up North.

And in tribute to the handsome groom, I would like to share on of my most memorable conversations with Noah:

(Scene: Miami, 2008. I am ranting about a 25 year-male I know who cannot execute the simplest of tasks. Noah tries to inject insight and reason into my tirade.) 

Noah: Lori, when I was 25, I couldn’t mail a letter.

Me: (Rolls eyes.)

Noah: Well, did you ever get a letter from me?

Me: No, but–

Noah: Well, there you have it.

Me. (Sighs.) Well, how did you pay your bills?

Noah: I didn’t.

(End scene.)

Categories: conversations, Family, Life
  1. December 12, 2011 at 22:58

    Haha! If only every woman could know this, it would save a lot of heartache.

    • December 13, 2011 at 16:11

      If I can rely on my cousin for one thing, it’s honesty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

