Home > Learning, Life, School > Elusive myths: Big Foot, the Loch Ness Monster, and balance.

Elusive myths: Big Foot, the Loch Ness Monster, and balance.

*Warning: this is all stuff that I’ve gone on about before. Feel free to skip.*

In my field, there is a lot of talk about achieving “work-life balance” and practicing “self-care’. I think these concepts are a joke. My program requires that students spend 24 hours in the field and take four classes. For these classes, we probably have anywhere from 200-300 pages we should read as well as multiple papers, presentations, and exams. So if we go to work three days a week , spend 10 hours in class , and actually complete assignments, that doesn’t leave that much time for anything else. I’m not trying to complain here; I’m trying to explain that logistically, I don’t see how I can get all of my work done and still get eight hours of sleep every night.

Now, there are people in my program that never seem to stress out. They even do things like “go out” on the weekends. Some of them have “relationships”. I am fascinated by these people. How do they do it? Between school, work, and judo, I can’t seem to find a good way to fit in anything else. I know it’s my own fault. I told myself this year I was going to be more social, but somehow that manifested as me joining student government and getting involved in other things at school. So my way of becoming more social was just to take on more commitments. Right. And this week and the next are mid-terms, so in my attempt to get ahead in my work so I’m not slammed, I skipped judo and stayed up stupid late every night. Now I feel like I’m getting sick, but I’m still all twitchy from not going to practice. Stategy = backfired.

So when am I going to figure this out? Sometimes, I think never. I comfort myself by pretending that the students in my program who seem to be perfectly content are faking it and go home and cry every night. But I’m still going to try–I won’t give up on the hunt to find the elusive creature we call “balance”.

Categories: Learning, Life, School
  1. October 25, 2011 at 11:32

    Trying to find balance is so hard. At this point, I don’t even know what I’m trying to balance. When you find it, let me know how/where/what because I DEFINITELY want some of that!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

