Home > Challenges, Injuries, Judo, Kata, Life, Promotions, Reason > All that hype.

All that hype.

So, I did not perform my kata demonstration last night. I realized as I was warming up that my new injury really hurts. Not just in the nagging, inconvenient way. It hurts in the sense that on Sunday, I almost cried and last night, I almost cried. I almost went through with it anyway, but thankfully my training partner has considerably more sense than I do and pointed out that the demonstration did not have  to happen that night. What good could come of exacerbating my injury? I still have to do a couple more tournaments before I’m officially promoted, so changing the date of my kata demo is really OK.

Of course, logically, I understand all that. But my irrational side feels so dejected. I just wanted to get it over with and move on to the next thing. But now, I must be patient with myself. I genuinely suck at patience.

I’m back to the drawing board yet again with judo. I feel like I keep doing something wrong in terms of my training and its impact on my body. Times like last night make me wonder if I need to take off one whole month completely, but that doesn’t feel like the right answer. I keep telling myself that I need to slow down, but truthfully, I don’t even know what I mean by that. What I do know is that whatever happens, I have to remember that I’m grateful that judo is in my life, no matter what it throws at me. It teaches me more than I probably want to know. Most of lessons come from the tremendous people I train with who thankfully have sense. I don’t know how I’d get through times like these without them.

  1. October 4, 2011 at 23:15

    Keep driving forward, in training and in life.

    • October 5, 2011 at 09:30

      Thanks, buddy. And thanks for your message.

  2. Lex
    October 4, 2011 at 23:43

    I think 9 of 10 people will tell you to take a month off. It’s the rational thing to do in a sense that something hurts, you don’t know why injuries keep happening, so why not just throw the usual over-training label on it and take a much needed rest.

    I of course disagree with that completely. Your goal should be to figure out WHY you got hurt, plan a careful program of building up technique, stabilizer muscles, and awareness so that the injury doesn’t happen again. Keep coming to practice and do ONLY things that don’t hurt. It’s annoying but you have to always be analytical about it.

    Some injuries are complete accidents, but I really believe that for us beginner-intermediate players most injuries are own damn fault, because we twist our body in the wrong way, put ourselves in a bad spot, etc. So the goal should be to figure out the problem and not let it happen. Ice it, do physical therapy, and keep trying to get to the source of the problem.

    Okay long rant is over. I believe in you!

  3. October 5, 2011 at 09:59

    Thanks, Lex.

    I agree that staying away for several weeks is not the right solution. It seems counter-productive, and I also think it would be harder to jump back in mentally after so much time off.

    I know how I got hurt this time, and I know that the cause was about 98% mental and about 2% physical. So in part, I have to work on staying consistently relaxed. The rest is the usual, as you note: ice, PT, and figuring out how to neither repeat the same mistake or fall into something similar.

    Your rants are always welcome. That’s what the internet is for, isn’t it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

