Everything is fine.

Whenever I have a bad day, I really try not to complain. On days like today, however, where everything seems to be going wrong before noon, I do feel pretty irritated. Actually, it’s more like a confused, overwhelmed feeling of “What the f***?”

Last night, I had a debilitating headache which threw me off a little  this morning. I discovered my laptop will not turn on. I accidentally got on an express train while heading to judo practice so I missed kettlebells class. I realized that I only managed to put in one contact lens.  An injury I acquired on Friday became so painful that I had to stop what I was doing completely and I had to do my best to not cry or throw a complete fit.

Mornings like these, I try to keep things in perspective. Such little occurrences are by no means the worst things that have happened to me. Also, realistically, more terrible things will happen in my life and this morning will seem like joke. Clearly, the contact lens and missing KB class are not epic tragedies. Even my laptop not working is not the worse thing since I don’t have any major assignments on there right now, and I can use computers at school. My internet connection in my apartment is entirely unreliable anyway. The injury is pretty upsetting since I’m scheduled to perform my kata demonstration tomorrow and I prefer to be calm and clear-headed while I do it.

When a series of tiny things contribute to a “bad day”, I often go back to the phrase “everything happens for a reason.” Truthfully, I don’t believe that everything happens for a reason. I think all the things that happen in our lives and in this world occur at random and chaotic intervals. We simply don’t have control over them. It’s up to us to assign reason and meaning to our experiences and come out better for them.

Whatever. I only have to take 18 falls tomorrow night. No big deal when you really think about it.

  1. Lex
    October 2, 2011 at 17:59

    Good luck tomorrow. Reading this post got me to write about dealing with injury today: http://goo.gl/Dpb4R

    I feel your pain.

  2. October 2, 2011 at 18:09

    Thanks, buddy. Today was rough because I was in real pain, not just the annoying, slightly uncomfortable kind of pain. It’s both scary and frustrating for me when I realize that I can’t ignore it and that, yes, I have to set limitations or I could do real damage. It’s nice to know though that there are so many of us out there who at least can empathize with the feeling.

  3. October 3, 2011 at 10:04

    Good luck tomorrow. You have fortitude. I found at one point, that when a bunch of things started happening…well… sometimes a bunch of stuff was just happening.

    But other times, now, I saw a pattern. I was on overload and things just started ‘falling off” and going wrong without my permission until I had a manageable load. If that was the case, and I noticed it in time, I would try to at least take the choice back by knocking off a few things myself.

    I hope in this case, it is just the former and a bunch of stuff is just happening. Then tomorrow it will stop happening (after the 18 falls). Anyway, you are bearing up heroically. Proud to call you a family member.

  4. October 3, 2011 at 11:02

    Ok, from an outsiders perspective forgetting to put one contact in is actually pretty funny. How do you not notice when half the world is blurry? Ummm BTW, 18 falls? First 3 sets or all 5 sets? Either way I am not getting 18.

  5. October 3, 2011 at 11:49

    Eric, I have to do the first three sets. Each set has three throws, executed on the right and the left. So, for each set, I fall six times. Six multiplied by three is 18. My math could be wrong though. I am just a girl, after all.

    I did notice that half the world was blurry; I just thought my contact was screwy.

    And Claire, ditto. x0x0!

  6. October 4, 2011 at 10:54

    Forgot about the left side, but who needs left handed throws anyway.

  1. October 2, 2011 at 17:56

Leave a Reply

