Home > Learning, Training > It’s slowly sinking in.

It’s slowly sinking in.

For a girl on summer break, I’m freaking tired. Why? The answer is simple: over training. It’s a strange feeling. I’m not sore. I’m not in pain. I’m not even feeling lazing. My muscles just feel weak and…reluctant. Yes, conditioning is important. However, the conditioning is supposed to help me on the mat, not suck the energy away from it. I realized over the last two days that 40-60 minute morning work-outs plus two – four hours of training at night are doing me in.

Tonight was a great practice. I was the only student so my instructor had me drill sequences that will be really good for my game. It was awesome. But when you’re working one-on-one, I think you end up working much harder and getting a lot more reps in. There’s not much chit chat or pauses. I love that, but tonight I felt myself shutting down and politely requesting to call it a night a half hour early. I felt guilty and wussy for a moment, but these feelings were beat out by a sense of relief as I recognized calling it quits was a glimpse of common sense. For once.

I know the human body can handle a lot, but I’m not 16 anymore. I’m not even 25. And while a girl can dream, I’m not exactly an Olympic-caliber athlete. If I keep pushing myself seven days a week, I might just run myself into the ground instead. Recognizing our limitations is no fun. I suppose this is when I should remember that whole “maximum efficiency, minimum effort” thing we judoka talk so much about.

Categories: Learning, Training
  1. Ali B.
    September 3, 2011 at 01:30

    train smarter, not harder. Somebody said that, I think. LL – I did an epic, 130 mile bike ride, with 10,000 ft of elevation gain, lots of it on gravel. It took me a WEEK, no joke, a solid week to recover from that. Dont wear yourself out.

  2. September 3, 2011 at 10:45

    Burton, I’m mega proud of you. So proud, in fact, that I’m going to heed your advice out of respect! x0x0

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

