Home > Learning, Life, School > Degree hog.

Degree hog.

In roughly a week and half, I will start my last year of my Master’s program. Come May 2012, if all goes as planned, I’ll have my MSW. I’m pretty sure I’m going to feel awesome about this, maintaining a huge sense of personal and academic achievement. However, even though I still have two semesters to go, I don’t think a Master’s is going to be enough for me. Counseling is going to be hard, probably harder than I’ll be prepared for.  I’m drawn to it and I love it, but there may be a point in my career where I realize that direct practice is wearing me down and I’m not doing the good work I want to do. This is the point where I think pursuing a J.D. comes in. I can see myself practicing law and remaining an effective social change advocate. More importantly, whatever path my career takes I want to ensure that I never stop gaining knowledge and experience. I realize that accumulating numerous academic degrees isn’t the only way to guarantee this, but I do love the exchange of ideas that occurs in the classroom.

Oh, I also really, really want to get a doctorate in something. “Dr. Latimer” just sounds so good, right?

Categories: Learning, Life, School
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

