Home > Human Nature, Judo, Life > On loving bruises.

On loving bruises.

When I step off the mat after training, there are a few indicators for me that mark a good practice. They can be a breakthrough in executing a technique, trying something new for the first time that feels like a good fit, or simply having good chemistry with my training buddies. Now, I know this is going to sound sick to some of you, but my favorite indicator of a solid night of training is being covered in bruises. I really love my bruises. Most of the time, we don’t like bruises. They remind us each time someone touches our sore spot or we knock it accidentally that we got hurt. And getting hurt is bad. When it comes to judo though, seeing black and blue marks left from my training buddies’ fingers and thumbs means that we were working hard that night, that we weren’t holding back, or letting the day’s fatigue leading up to class get to us. So my bruises doesn’t serve as symbol of pain; rather, I see them as a symbol of how exciting it is being in the moment, giving everything we have on the mat.

Of course, I do recognize the downside of my leopard spots. For example, when you’re a girl who will be wearing a sleeveless summer dress at a formal occasion this weekend, a smattering of black and blue finger prints can raise some eye brows. It’s hard enough explaining to some people what judo is in the first place, let alone the fact that I love doing something that makes me look like a victim. Little do they know that my bruises make me feel ready to take on the world.

Categories: Human Nature, Judo, Life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

