Home > Judo, Learning, passion > You can’t fake true love.

You can’t fake true love.

(Disclaimer: This post in not about that kind of love, but conveying love of intangible things, like baking or literature or bonsai tree trimming.)

Although it’s usually a small group, I really love Wednesday nights at my judo club. Each Wednesday, a different black belt in our club runs class. We have a good number of black belts and most of them came up the ranks through different clubs, and even different countries.  It’s a great way for our students to get an idea of different styles and approaches to judo. Then we can incorporate the things that click into our own practice.

Last night, class was taught by someone who’s been with the club a long time. When I see him in our regular class, he’s usually pretty quiet. I had no idea what his class would be like. As he began running warm-ups, all of a sudden I was beginning to see who he was. Just by the cadence of his instruction, the drills he picked, and the techniques he taught, I was seeing what judo meant to him. I was learning the practice through his perspective, and it was completely unlike anyone else at our club. Which is why I’ve always loved Wednesday night, just seeing what each different black belt considers important, what techniques they are drawn to, how they approach the basics, and above all else, their love for judo.

They say those who can, do and those who can’t, teach. I’m not sure if that’s true. When I think back on all of my teachers, the ones whom I loved the most and whose lessons taught me the most were always so passionate and excited about the subject. Their love of the subject was contagious.  It made the exchange of skills and knowledge seem almost effortless, and also so thrilling. I’ve also had teachers who were allegedly brilliant in their field, but were terrible teachers, usually because they hated the very existence of their students. What’s the point of becoming an expert if something if you don’t want to share your knowledge? I think if you are truly passionate about something, you want other people to appreciate and see what you see. I also think that passion and the need to convey what you’ve learned to other people  is what makes you continue to progress and hone your expertise.  If you don’t love what you do, no one else will either.

Categories: Judo, Learning, passion
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

