Home > competition, Judo, Promotions > Same page.

Same page.

A few weeks ago, I was fretting over earning my brown belt, mainly because I am terrified of wearing a belt that speaks more highly of my skill level than it should.  Thankfully, I’ve had separate conversations with my coach and assistant coach and discovered that they agree with my thoughts on my promotion. Since going from green to brown is a big leap, I really want to compete a couple more times so I can see where I stand at my current level before putting on an “advanced” belt.  I was glad to hear that my coaches thought that was a good game plan for me. I was especially grateful for the talk I had with my assistant coach because she gave me some solid points to work on to improve my fighting. It eases my mind to have some focus as I prepare for the upcoming fall tournaments.

So now we’re aiming to have me demonstrate my Kata sets in December for my promotion rather than September. I can live with that, and I am happy to say that I’m considerably less afraid of wearing a brown belt now.

Categories: competition, Judo, Promotions
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

