Home > conversations, Family, Friends, Judo, Life, Listening > Just plain lucky.

Just plain lucky.

I’ve had two conversations in the last two days that reminded me that I really do have it made. Not in terms of material wealth and stability, but regarding the number of tremendous people I have in my life.

As one can gather from my previous post, I had a pretty miserable judo week. I was extra miserable at last night’s practice and was not succeeding in hiding it. Our club’s sensei emeritus was in last night, and as many black belts have done for me in terrible practices past, he pulled me aside in the nick of time to do some work and distract me from my dismal frame of mind. After some solid work on the basics, he gently reminded me that judo is pretty rough on the body. Sometimes, we have to protect ourselves from judo even though we love it. He talked about his 44 year relationship with judo and how what he gives and what he gets from his practice has changed throughout the years.  He went on to tell me that he believed that I could be one of those people who will stay on the mat for the next 40 years. My sensei said some other incredible words of encouragement that make me feel a little weepy if I pause to think about them simply because of the sincerity with which they were said, so I won’t go into it. But I will say that our talk was just the thing I needed to clear my head and get me back on track. Judo requires so much self-motivation, but when things aren’t going right, it’s hard to push through. Talking with my sensei last night, I remembered that your club really can be as strong as your family and it’s likely we would not be as determined to be our best if we always had to be on our own.

Then today, I traveled by train up to Boston for my friends’ wedding. Right now I’m staying with friends that I haven’t seen in about three years.  That’s kind of a long time. My buddy picked me up from the train station, and within minutes of starting up the catch-up chit chat, we found ourselves diving into a conversation about human nature, self-reflection, education, and social welfare. I always love talking about these things, but what I loved in that moment was that my buddy and I could dive right in as though we saw each other everyday, but at the same time engaged in an exchange that we’ve never had before. It felt pretty amazing, and I couldn’t help but think that I have some pretty amazing friends.

I really don’t know how I got so lucky, but I know enough not question my good fortune.

 

  1. July 10, 2011 at 12:42

    i dont call it luck- i call it prudent decision making- choosing the friends you did because they have a positive influence on your life. I find it interesting to see which people in our lives have stayed constant thru the thick and thin… luck can only you take you so far.

  2. July 10, 2011 at 22:55

    You are a wise old bird, S. Dot.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

