Home > Human Nature, social work, Writing > When insomnia leads to novice blogging.

When insomnia leads to novice blogging.

When I got pretty sick a week ago, my doctor put me on a low-dose steroid to get me back on track. I am currently tapering off the medication, but since I’ve been on it, I’ve been eating enough for an active 200 pound man and can’t seem to fall asleep. So for the second time in a four day period, I find myself waking up at 1:30 AM starving, and subsequently eating and blogging. The real victim here is you, dear reader.

I’ve only been writing this blog for a few weeks, and I remain on the fence about it. I’ve always loved to write, but I haven’t written for recreation or even kept a journal for years. So I have concerns about accidentally turning this into a diary, which would be horribly boring for anyone unfortunate enough to find themselves here. I do believe that good writing has to be honest and needs to have a genuine voice. Even instructional blogs become popular because they have a distinctive perspective.

There’s a line of privacy, I suppose is what you’d call it, that I would like not to cross. However, there are definitive moments in my life which have shaped my perspective. I wonder if I write about a related topic and reveal something truly personal, if that would be inappropriate. I’m not quite sure what the right word is here. Since I’ve been in my MSW program, I’ve discovered that most practicing and aspiring social workers have specific experiences in their personal lives that draw them to the field.  So when you’re surrounded by a bunch of social workers all of the time, discussing the skeletons in your family’s closet becomes normalized. To the rest of the world, these conversations would be  a little too heavy for a second or third encounter, but for social workers, it’s nearly water cooler chit chat. I keep thinking that I must remember we’re all not social workers who love to analyze human nature and our relationships with other people.

Although I feel self-conscious about writing a blog, the only way that I can get a handle on it is to keep at it. I will just try to balance the personal and universal, and keep my terrible jokes to a minimum. I will, however, not refrain from drowning you in cliches. It’s one of my favorite writing rules to break. So get your life vests on!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

